Zettelkasten Forum

Long Time Listener, First Time Caller

Hello!
My name is Dan. I am fairly new to the Zettelkasten Method. I've been reading about it on and off for years (especially this website) but have finally decided to try it. I am not new to notetaking in general. I learned to take notes from the old Turabian manuals many years ago. Everything on a 3x5 note card. One thought, one card. Using markings to separate my words from paraphrasing and from quotes. Adding source information, etc. In college (many years ago), I was heavily involved in Educational Psychology around notetaking, study skills and research in those areas. Over the years, I've picked up concepts such as Commonplace and many types of notetaking methods (all of them? :P).

I adopted a Plain Text workflow a few years ago. I am on Linux/Windows environments. I'm not tied to any editor (hence my use of markdown). I use various VIM flavors, VS Code, notepad, and have tried emacs, Zettlr and Obsidian. I'm fairly comfortable using any of those but am mainly using Zettlr right now. I use pandoc to generate most everything I need either to HTML, docx or PDF via LaTeX. My reference manager of choice is Zotero. I use hypothes.is "somewhat," but not much. I haven't figured out a good way to just pipe those notes into Zotero where I'd prefer them. My "inbox" is Zotero.

Why am I looking at Zettelkasten after all these years? Because I'm adventuring out into new phases in my life where I think notetaking and writing are going to become far more important. Mainly in the area of Genealogy. Genealogy has overlap with many topics/cross-overs in history, anthropology, social sciences, archive/library science, DNA, general research, writing. I need a better way to process and use information. While I have degrees in history, anthropology, and engineering, I've work in more practical fields, mainly Tech, for years and am well out of practice in research and writing.