Zettelkasten Forum

Coloured text

Yesterday, I watched a talk by Tony Buzan at Poland's SWPS University, which I came across on YouTube, reminding me of the importance of colour in understanding and recall.

Whilst at school several decades ago, I became very keen on Tony Buzan's methods popularised by his 1974 BBC television series Use Your Head, in which he encouraged people to use colourful mindmaps and speedreading, among other techniques, to better understand and remember anything they were studying. At the time, I was a failing student. So, even though most students and staff saw his techniques as weird, I decided to give them ago. To my astonishment, by applying just a couple of his key techniques, I quickly started getting top marks and with less effort. So, I have no doubt Tony's methods have merit.

It would therefore be beneficial to introduce coloured text into The Archive app by using some simple markup code.

Even a limited pallet would be helpful, perhaps just red, green and blue, although the more colours, the better. Something like <r>for red text</r>, <b>for blue text</b>, etc., would be enough. But hex codes would allow for a more extensive pallet.

Would coloured text in The Archive app be possible?

Tony Buzan's talk at SWPS University can be seen here: https://youtu.be/QEokHNWf-Qg.

And his 1974 BBC television series Use Your Head, is available here: https://youtu.be/EgG8GuQHHIs.

Comments

• To my knowledge, no Markdown editor has built-in text coloring.
    On Daring Fireball: Markdown Syntax Documentation, it's stated, "Markdown’s formatting syntax only addresses issues that can be conveyed in plain text." This is one of the main attractions of Markdown. It's plain text and not much else.