Zettelkasten Forum

Mohamed from Egypt

Hi everyone,
I am Mohamed from Egypt.
I am brand new to the note-taking world, as I've just been searching for a way to organize my studies as I am studying different topics in different majors, for example, programming, accounting, finance, database...etc.
I found myself forgetting almost everything I read, and after googling I found many facing the same exact problem, so my search started by finding a way to take notes efficiently, and that lead me to the Cornell Note-Taking System.
Later on, I found many recommendations to collect or aggregate this Cornell Note-Taking System and use an electronic Zettelkasten system for everything.
Then I stopped by 2 books that were talking about both, note-taking and Zettelkasten:
1. How to Take Smart Notes by Sönke Ahrens.
2. Digital Zettelkasten Principles, Methods, & Examples by David Kadavy.
3. This is not a book but a PDF presentation, Introduction to Luhmann’s Zettelkastenthinking and its technical implementation Dr. Daniel Lüdecke.
In the beginning, I thought Zettelkasten is software to use for organizing notes, but it turned out to be a HUGE topic and watched too many videos on Youtube about it and I've set my mind on having a digital Zettelkasten system and syncing it across my computer, mobile, and laptop.
So far I am still looking for which tool to use to build this system because TheArchive software is a MAC version only. By the way, if you may suggest a tool or a scenario to achieve the Zettelkasten system that would be awesome.
I've found some tools like Notion, Obsidian, iAWriter ...etc, and also found some other tools for doing flashcards like Anki which I would like to use as well within the system, and I am still confused between them to pick one and learn it to make the best use of it on the long run.
All opinions and recommendations are highly appreciated.

Post edited by MGadAllah on

Thanks,
Mohamed GadAllah

Comments

• @MGadAllah