Zettelkasten Forum

want to make more use of written notes

edited October 2021 in Introduce Yourselves!

Hi

My name is Neal, I'm in California and likely starting a new software engineering job soon. I've been using a paper Bullet Journal (BuJo) for a few years. I like that it is offline and I can problem solve with it, since I spend so much time online, and recently I've been looking for ways to make my bullet journal more searchable and useful. So I came across the Commonplace index, and Zettelkasten, both of which look promising. I've made some few steps on implementing both in my bullet journal. I'll have new things to learn quickly in my new job so any advice on first steps, software engineering, working on paper, or anything related etc would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

• Neal
Post edited by nealc on

Comments

• edited October 2021

@nealc

Hello and welcome to the forum! You may find this an ironic start in answering your questions. I also have been bullet journaling for a few years. My first year was paper, which was quite satisfying and also fun. I switched to an electronic method of bullet journaling, as it fit into my normal workflow well. The ironic part is that I’m recommending software to you, when you are likely thinking to stay with paper.

I use a program called NotePlan 3 for all my normal note-taking - bullet journal, meeting notes, random thoughts that I don’t want to lose, reminders, schedule items, records of physical activities (mostly walking and cycling), and a few other things. The combination of planning / scheduling / note taking is very nicely implemented and integrated in NotePlan, and it’s taken over tasks that I used to do in a number of other apps.