Zettelkasten Forum

Old memory on knowledge management

An old memory popped into my mind yesterday, something I could have forgotten but perhaps dredged up by thinking about Zettelkasten so much.

It was from the mid-1970s. I was a graduate student at the University of Alberta, running engineering programs (my own) on the university's Amdahl mainframe computer. This was before the days of desktop computers. I was given an account with which to access a few MB of file storage and a whopping 64KB of memory within which to run my programs. You worked from a dedicated, green-screen terminal, "typed" up your program on a card punch machine, and ran the program by submitting it using a card reader. Heaven help the graduate student who tripped and spilled his or her box of cards all over the floor!

The (data only) file storage structure was completely flat: you had one directory and the file names followed the standard of having no more than 8 characters. I printed out a list of all files and then hand wrote their description beside each file name so that I could remember the contents.

Speaking to a visiting professor one day, he wistfully remarked: "I don't understand why this computer system doesn't use a hierarchical (i.e., nested) directory structure - it would be so much more efficient. And while they are at it, they should allow longer file names". To me, this was an astounding and radical suggestion. At first, I couldn't understand how it would have any use. It took a few days for me to wrap my mind around the concept and understand that he wasn't just being subversively critical of a different university. It took a few years to appreciate how much of an improvement that would make in my work habits (not until I graduated and starting working on a PC at a consulting company).