Zettelkasten Forum

Marking links and anchors

I am just starting out with my Zettelkasten, so I might be asking something that has already been covered but I haven't stumbled upon yet. I was wondering what the reasoning is to not mark links. This might very well be specific to The Archive or similar software, but to give an example of what I mean. I generally see something like this:

This is some sentence about the relevance of the link to Zettel [[202004161844]].

In other words, the style you generally see used for footnotes, like [1]. However with URLs you generally see the relevant text marked, like [something](https://example.com). Am I right in my assumption that this is because Zettels should be structured such that the whole "block" (i.e. paragraph, list item, heading) should be about the linked Zettel, and so there is no need to mark a piece of it? Or is it because I should see them like footnotes, i.e. as a internal link / anchor to another piece of the whole (i.e. the Zettelkasten).

I started thinking about linking and how I could point to specific parts within my Zettels, but after thinking some more about it, I realized that this might be a completely wrong way to think of it, namely that the moment you feel like you want to have internal links or point to something specific within your Zettel that it just means the Zettel should have been split up in multiple Zettels. Am I correct to think that? Or is the some other guideline to this?

BTW with anchor I mean for example the #something ending of URLs that allow you to go to a specific element within a HTML document.

Comments

• @grayen said:
    I generally see something like this:

This is some sentence about the relevance of the link to Zettel [[202004161844]].

In other words, the style you generally see used for footnotes, like [1]. However with URLs you generally see the relevant text marked, like [something](https://example.com).