Zettelkasten Forum

Structure Notes, Please help...

I am still in the trial and error phase of my Zettelkasten and need help on Structure notes. I have been reading some posts on them and get the general concept though am having difficulty in practice. I know the structure note is taken from the entry point note Luhmann used. My question is how do you formulate the structure note? How do you determine which note should be the entry point? Thank you.

Comments

• Create a new note. :)

I am a Zettler

• @Sascha please elaborate. I am a noob noob. Haha

• edited August 2020

I would suggest writing your first few notes on 'note-taking'. If I look back to the first notes in my Zettelkasten, the first 8 are notes on note-taking.

The best you can do is:
    1) Consume all publicly available sources on structure notes.
    Good Post - https://zettelkasten.de/posts/three-layers-structure-zettelkasten/
    Less about structure notes, but since its video, there are many practical tips -
    Good discussion - https://forum.zettelkasten.de/discussion/909/how-to-take-smart-notes-structure-note

2) Experiment on your own (this takes time), and form your own opinions through practice.

• edited August 2020

@Sascha so in trying to conceptualize the ZK I thought of being a chef. So a chef is in search of many recipes. He finds them from books, websites, blogs, videos etc. He then stores them in a box for future use (I know for reading you are writing your own thoughts from the original material). Though he wants to start to create his own recipes (an end product with your own thoughts) so he goes into this recipe box and starts to take ingredients from various recipes (linking notes) that would taste good together.
    The ZK is for producing, otherwise it becomes a graveyard of notes. Correct?

I may be way off so please tell me if I am.

Back to a structure note. What would a structure note look like here in this situation?