Zettelkasten Forum

My Zettelkasten Journey (So Far)

Hello, I'm Mike from South Carolina in the US. Here is my Zettelkasten journey so far.

• 1970's
    • My degree is in English. I wanted to be a writer.
  • 1980's
    • I learned to code in IBM 360 Assembler using punch cards actually (How crazy is that?). Even taught Assemble at a local tech school. Been in software development ever since. The process of writing and coding is similar.
    • I became a software developer, eventually working with Oracle databases, thinking about data and information in terms of a data dictionary and structured query language (I still do). The programming language doesn't matter. I can't say I used them all, but most of the major ones.
  • 2000's
    • Abandoned what I thought was a desire to be in management and took a leap and became an independent contractor. I never looked back.
  • 2018-03
  • 2019-02
    • Purchased The Archive after spending the previous year trying to get my thinking and my existing note pile of entropy mess disaster infused with as much of the best ideas I could find and mimic from the Blog and Forum here at Zettelkasten.de.
  • 2019-06
    • My leap in the 2000's paid-off. I retired.
    • People asked me what I wanted to do in retirement. Sort of like what do you want to do when you grow up.
    • I had no clue.
    • Eventually, I realize I wanted to think and to write, which is why I choose a degree in English back in the day.
  • 2019-10
    • I succeeded in taming my note pile of entropy using Bear Notes using the Zettelkasten Method.
    • I choose Bear Notes because I already had notes there, and I thought to have inline images important.
    • I joined the Forum.zettelkasten.de, excited with my efforts with Bear Notes.
  • 2019-12
    • I woke up in the middle of a cold dark winter night with the terror that my note pile of entropy tamed by the ZK Method was a classic example of "Collector's Fallacy."