Zettelkasten Forum

Introduction and thanks

Hello -- I want to introduce myself (Carolyn here) and thank you all for being so patient as I lurked over the last month, and waited to post something. :)

I started my Zettelkasten in January, as a lockdown project, and I quickly found that it's perfect for me. I'm a compulsive learner (really), and ZK is a wonderful way for me to take useful notes, initialize writing projects, and organize my thoughts.

I work as an independent consultant, specializing in statistics, neural network applications, and geospatial technology, and my ZK mostly contains topics related to that. I adopted Obsidian for my software tool -- I work on both Windows and Linux, and it's supported on both platforms; in addition, it supports math markdown.

As an independent consultant, I've also been thinking a bit about how to market (or at least, how to remind people that I'm here, so they remember me when they need my kind of help). Of course, blogging is a popular way for niche consultants to market, but the idea of adding regular blogging to my pile of tasks was daunting.

But then, the other day, I realized that I have many potential blog posts already written, in my ZK. In many ways, the atomicity of Zettels is a perfect writing style for blog posts -- all you need to do is modify them so they are a bit more freestanding, and add something at the beginning to explain why readers should care about the idea under discussion (since you know why you put it in your ZK, but readers don't).

I'd love to hear what you all think of the idea of blogging content from your ZK. Here is my introductory post, and my first Zettel post, a quick review of the covid vaccine FDA pre-approval briefs.

Comments

• Welcome.