Zettelkasten Forum

How do you read a book?

I was diagnosed Type 2 Diabetes a year ago. Since then I always want to have a systematic study on how to prevent complications, plan my diet and exercises.

I just need to figure out where to begin all this.

My current plan is to use the DK's Diabete's Handbook as a lead-in, which I hope could give me a systematic overview, and then I plan to add more articles and books to each part of the topic.

Then I start my plan last week by reading the handbook, but I notice I have no idea how to read a book. I admit it indeed sounds silly. I was a good student when I was in the college. Now I'm not. I don't know what to do when I go through each line, paragraph on the page.

So I'm wondering if anyone could share a realistic approach to read a book/books/article. By realistic, I mean I really hope it's not some theory education with really confused vocabularies. Think me like a 12 year old student, not some top scientists.

Thank you and wish you all well.

Comments

• edited March 20

My recommendations for reading are:

If I understand you well, your end goal is to "have a systematic study on how to prevent complications, plan my diet and exercises".

Reading is a way to get the necessary knowledge to achieve the goal. However, just reading may not be enough to get that knowledge (because, maybe, the books or articles you want to read are too hard to understand or apply directly).

So, one way to solve this problem is to read and process what you read. This way, you will be able to get knowledge even from hard-to-understand sources.

In this sense, the Barbell Method of Reading is a workflow for reading sources (having in mind that later you want to process them), and the Knowledge Cycle is a reminder that is better to do short cycles of reading and processing.

The last thing is: How do you process a lecture?

Use the Zettelkasten Method :-)

For more advice for reading: you can check https://zettelkasten.de/overview/#reading