Zettelkasten Forum

Concrete example of Literature notes

I am quite new to ZK method but I thought I understand the basic types of zettels, e.g. literature notes. While watching a workflow video about ZK I saw literature notes that make me wonder that I did not understand it yet.

This is how I do it

When reading a text and "marking important" parts I make a zettel of each part. Here are two examples from the same book but different:

# Shape of the world

The world is a ball.

Source: Bob (1876). The world. p.47

A second one.

# Alternative Shape of the world

Others think the world is a cube.

Source: Bob (1876). The world. p.419

You see: Two informations from two pages of the same book. This is how I would do this.

But in the video I saw two other interesting approaches. I would like to know how do you do this.

Alternative approach A

Approach one is to separate the source itself as zettel.

# Book: Bob 1876 The world

Full Reference:
Bob (1876). The world

Then the two informations

# Shape of the world

The world is a ball.

[link to "Book: Bob 1876 The world"] p.47

A second one.

# Alternative Shape of the world

Others think the world is a cube.

[link to "Book: Bob 1876 The world"] p.419

Alternative approach B

This is the other way around. The bibliographic zettel also holds the TOC of the book and link to the informations zettel form there.

Full Reference:
   Bob (1876). The world

TOC
   1. Introduction
   2. Chapter X
   [link to "Book: Bob 1876 The world"] p.47

3. Chapter A
   3.5. sub
   [link to "Book: Bob 1876 The world"] p.419

And the other two zettel.

Comments

• edited October 2021