Zettelkasten Forum

Newbie - wondering what is the point of tags?

I'm new to Zettelkasten and have just found this forum and blog. I'm a writer - I was doing a literature PhD - and I'm looking at ways to collate my various reading and to easily 'remember' and access connections. I'm confused as to the value of tagging if whatever I'm using for my Zettelkasten has a good search function? For example, I can see why I might add tags for 'self' or 'Camus', but equally, if a search would bring up those terms what advantage is there to having tags as well?

Comments

• @michaelamherst you are right that with the right software for your Zettelkasten, search is the most powerful tool. Tags do some work but are not quite as useful as it might seem. In the example you present, tags probably wouldn't help. But they can be helpful in small ways as your Zettelkasten grows.

This is so hard to get your head around when you are getting started because you have so few notes. At first, I thought tags were great and tagged the bejesus out every note. Then I got disillusioned and didn't tag anything. Now I use few tags and only when I see that the note body doesn't contain appropriate contextual phrasing. I also use tags to group literature notes and to group my hub notes. I tend to remove and change tags form time to time and usually don't tag notes at first but tag them later when they pop up in a search. (Search is really a question I'm asking my Zettelkasten.) This will not become apparent until you have hundreds of notes. But eventually, searching becomes more difficult and exacting. When thinking about search, a search term must appear in the text to be found. And you must add it when creating the note! Who knows exactly what you'll be searching for, what questions you'll ask your Zettelkasten in the future? Tags are more contextual information on which you can search.

Small example. Search for the term 'self'.
    Note 1 contains the term self and is relevant in search