Zettelkasten Forum

Zettelkasten for scientific research

Hi everyone!

I'm a computer science student, struggling with note-taking (read: I'm not taking any notes). I'm trying this Zottelkasten graph-based method to improve and motivate myself.

The main reason why I usually don't take notes is that I have a pile of wonderful, painfully written, notebooks in my shelf... that is completely not usable in practice.

If I'm not able to search and retrieve them... they may as well not exist. A forgotten note in a notebook does not exist for me.

The Zottelkasten method seems to solve this problem, so I'm quite excited to try it!

Now the main problem.
I have read a lot of discussions about the Zettelkasten method and every discussion is concentrated on humanistic writing. I want to apply this method to my scientific field, i.e. inserting in the zottelkasten every prior concept needed to generate new ideas.

For example:

• I'm attending a class in Probability: I'd like to insert the topics and notes discussed in that class into the Zottelkasten.
  • I read a paper: I'd like a summary for the paper that uses some ideas (links to them).
  • I have an idea? I'd like to link that note to the prior concepts needed to understand that idea.
  • I learn a new concept? Insert into the db.

How would you approach this problem without making the Zottelkasten unmanageable?
I fear that the mix of different type of notes (class notes, my ideas, paper I read will create confusion in the long run)

I'm thing about a possible approach: basic folder division and an (evolving) tag system.

I was thinking to name each file only with their ID and divide the notes in these folders:

• fleeting: temporary note, before I forget what I wanted to write.