Zettelkasten Forum

What do I do with my hundreds of notes I have outside of Zettelkästen?

I've been reading the bookie that ppl recommend, called "How to Take Smart Notes" and the guy says some stuff about how it's not necessary to pass your notes to your "slipbox" system.

However, I'm a fiction writer, and I've already struggled a fuckton because my note organization system was so disorderly. I couldn't find shit and I have hundreds of ideas that I thought I'd never use because I wouldn't be able to systematically browse them. Now I find Zettelkästen, as I'm sure y'all found it, and I think it would be a better way to organize my folder (which I'd been looking for for months because my old system is seriously terrible).

Now, I see that there's just so many notes, and the usual "content consumption" process of a nonfiction writer is translated to a "content creation" process as a fiction writer. I may consume, but I spend most of my day writing and imagining for my own world, and reinterpreting existing content. My creation process is slowed by the fact that I'm so inefficient at using what I create.

• Should I just use my existing note system as an inbox and digest it all into Zettels? Or what do? I rarely ever read my notes, so I think they're useless in their current state.
  • If you were to do this, how would you do it?

Comments

• Welcome to the forums.

I feel your pain. Many of us have a history of notes before discovering this method.

@MotorUnicycle said:
    Now, I see that there are just so many notes, and the usual "content consumption" process of a nonfiction writer is translated to a "content creation" process as a fiction writer.

I don't understand how different genres of writers are relative to consumption vs. creation?

• Should I use my existing note system as an inbox and digest it all into Zettels? Or what does? I rarely ever read my notes, so I think they're useless in their current state.

Are these prior notes digital?