Zettelkasten Forum

Change header tags into Mac OS tags

Hello!

Right now, my tags are included in the header of the notes

---
Tags: #Anytag 
Date:
---

To navigate my files, I create manually SmartFolders with the condition "Content includes #Anytag" for each tag. This is a bit cumbersome as it forces me to add a new SmartFolder each time I add a new tag, and I don't have a simple view of all existing tags.

I was wondering if any of you knew how to "synchronize" those tags with Mac OS tags? That would be really nice to easily navigate my zettelkasten!

Comments

• @tantrig I suspect there is a way to do what you want in Keyboard Maestro, but I'm just learning how to use that program and can't say for sure. @Will has much more knowledge and experience with Keyboard Maestro and might comment on its capabilities.

@Will does have a KM macro that creates and then updates a note in The Archive containing a list of all of your tags. This might get you part way towards your goal. I can't seem to find the post on that at the moment.

• Very interesting, this looks like exactly what I need. Do you know if the synchronization also deletes tags when they are removed from the note's header?

• I just remembered the discussion and thought it may be helpful to you.

Reach out tho the developer, @zisoft, as he posted the link to his github repository.

Or perhaps he may reply or someone who uses the script.

• @tantrig said:
    Very interesting, this looks like exactly what I need. Do you know if the synchronization also deletes tags when they are removed from the note's header?

@tantrig: Yes, it does! :smile:

The tags are in fact synchronized: You can add, delete or modify tags.

• @tantrig: Yes, it does! :smile:

The tags are in fact synchronized: You can add, delete or modify tags.