Zettelkasten Forum

Question around existing knowledge

I've been building out my Zettelkasten for the past 6 months now, and its coming along nicely. Not as fast as I'd like it to, as I'm not adding as many notes as I feel like I could do, but its doing ok.

The question I have is that, being a type 1 diabetic, I really have a "self taught" area of expertise that I understand enough of the science behind to be able to hold my own in a conversation with any endocrinologist (specifically to do with T1 diabetes).
Considering I already know a lot about this subject already memorised, is it worth putting this stuff down into my Zettelkasten? And if so, how do you go about making a start on a subject that:
a) you already know so much about
b) there's so much to write about

Would you just make an entry point, start writing down everything you know as and when the things pop into your mind, then break it out into separate Zettel's? Or aim to try and fill out separate zettel's as you go along? Or am I over thinking this? Would you just write the facts down as reference notes, and your own experience as archived notes?

I feel like getting it written down would help make connections I wouldn't necessarily have made previously, which is the whole point of the Zettelkasten, but I almost feel overwhelmed knowing where to start on a subject like this as I could likely fill a Luhmann sized zettelkasten on diabetes alone.

Interested to hear what other peoples thoughts are around tackling an area you already know inside out :smile:

Comments

• I only discovered Zettelkasten this year, but I see it as a place to gather current thoughts and ideas. And if I uncover old stuff I've written before that I want to remember, I'll add it. There's lots of things I know and have memorized that I don't put into my Zettelkasten. That would feel like such a burden.