Zettelkasten Forum

Need an advice: How do you handle quotes and your comments?

Hi,
I'm new to ZK, so I don't build my system completely. Now, when I read a book (theory or fiction) I have

Heading which explain note

after that, I paste quote in note like

block quote

and write my comments in normal text beneath it (like this)

After that I have

Links

and

References

Tags, note ID (date), note title, origin note etc are in YAML section at the beginning of note.

The question is: do you keep quotations in separate note and link your comments to them or keep both in one note.

An also I'll be thankful if you comment my system.

Comments

• @damaskin said:

The question is: do you keep quotations in separate note and link your comments to them or keep both in one note.

Hello and welcome to the forum!

I'm a relative newcomer as well. I put quotes and my comments in the same Zettel. However, I don't include a lot of quotes, believing that the main purpose of the Zettel is to record my own thinking about an idea, even if it is just restating a concept in my own words. But sometimes a quote is so good that I want to include it, so I do. Maybe only 10% of my Zettels contain quotes and they are usually short. I also add a reference to the quote at the bottom of the Zettel, where I place both internal links (to other Zettels) and external links (to web pages, references to books, etc.).

• Hi @GeoEng51, thanks for answer.

believing that the main purpose of the Zettel is to record my own thinking about an idea, even if it is just restating a concept in my own words.

This is exactly my dilemma. From one hand it's quite useful to have quotation and your thoughts in one zettel, from the other hand, that's against the basics of ZK.

• @damaskin said:

Sometimes I keep the quote in the note, as the example below shows, and sometimes I remove it after I milked the quote dry. Depends on my mood and the quality of the quote. The quote below is Rocket Fuel so I kept it.