Zettelkasten Forum

Does a Zettelkasten contain EVERY knowledge?

I am about to implement my first Zettelkasten and have a question regarding what type of knowledge it should contain. Since linking is so important, I wonder how this works out with my position:

I am a software developer, moved to a business role in the job, and studies currently Finance in my free time. I am reading books on probably 5 different topics at the moment and I am generally an interested person. I am also currently writing a book with a publisher on a programming language.

I have:

• Work knowledge from my half-business/half-software position
  • My book project about how to use this specific programming language
  • My interest in finance and crypto currencies lately
  • Interest in Psychology

Now when I start inserting notes for my job, and then I add the first few notes for my book, those two topics don't correlate. Then I go over to crypto and other finance vehicles, and they don't link with my work knowledge.

Should I just accept that for the first few weeks I have some loose ends in my system? Or how can I approach this?

I would also love a proper 10 minute introduction which cuts out all the crap and goes to the point of implementation instead of talking at length about how great the Zettelkasten system is :)

Comments

• My personal Zettelkasten contains everything I deem to be knowledge. So, I argued multiple times: Yes. Anything can go in. I have workout plans, philosophy, reflections, physiology, humanities and even prose in my Zettelkasten.

An introduction will be published in a couple of days on this blog. But it is not a 10 Minute read.

I am a Zettler