Zettelkasten Forum

What’s the deal with emacs?

I’m digging the archive and the plain text workflow. That’s new for me.

I keep getting glimpses of emacs, and I’m drawn to the terminal/all-keyboard workflow. I’m NOT a programmer. I do a lot of writing, but no coding.

Is emacs worth exploring? And is it as “software agnostic” as the archive? I’m not sure if org files are as ubiquitous and future-proof as .txt files. I assume not, but would love your 2 cents.

Comments

• If you haven't any prior experience with Emacs, and just starting out with zettelkasten now I would recommend you looking at some other solution. Now it would just be a gigantic time sink for you.

I recommend The Archive if you're on a Mac, or Zettlr if you are using Windows or Linux (or want an application that works on all three).

• @inquisitiv3 said:
    If you haven't any prior experience with Emacs, and just starting out with zettelkasten now I would recommend you looking at some other solution. Now it would just be a gigantic time sink for you.

I recommend The Archive if you're on a Mac, or Zettlr if you are using Windows or Linux (or want an application that works on all three).

That's helpful. Imma stick with The Archive and continue having fun. 😊

• Check out Obsidian. This app has many great features out of the box. And it is free for personal use.

• org-files are txt-files. :)

Emacs is like staring into the abyss Nietzsche talked about:

Wer mit Ungeheuern kämpft, mag zusehn, dass er nicht dabei zum Ungeheuer wird. Und wenn du lange in einen Abgrund blickst, blickt der Abgrund auch in dich hinein.

Translation:

He who fights monsters, should watch out to not become a monster himself. And if you stare into the abyss long enough, the abyss stares back into you.

I am a Zettler

• @Sascha said:
    Emacs is like staring into the abyss Nietzsche talked about:

:o

I resisted until I realized resistance is futile.