Zettelkasten Forum

When to create zettels?

I have been using the zettelkasten system since this time in 2019. I started after reading How to Take Smart Notes and started using ZKN3, however quickly ran into some resistance and found this wonderful site and The Archive. Over 3000 notes later I am seeing the benefits of linked ideas and being able to find ideas which I was alway going ... “I’ve read this somewhere, but cannot remember where”.

I read extensively, often on the go during the day. Often it will be a quick read of a journal article while trying to answer a question which has come up in the run of my work which is immediately put into action. Also this is not immediately entered into my zettelkasten. Thus I have highlighted articles and books collected in my article collector of choice, Readcube Papers.

With regards to breaking this problem with workflow, do people find it easier to make a quick reference in the zettalkasten as a note at the time that they read the information or prefer to sit down and process the work in detail when you have the time?

Jd

Comments

• Personally, I'm still on the hunt for a good inbox/to-be-processed system. I'm in want of one for both use with notes of this kind, and for capture in general from a GTD perspective. Having that "ubiquitous capture" or "universal input" place for an idea to at least start, to then process later, feels like it would be a big gain in my practices (as long as I continued the downstream processes needed to keep that Inbox from becoming a dump/graveyard...).

Most people here will be of similar opinions, especially in regards to a Zettelkasten. Ideas that go into there should be Full Ideas, which doesn't lend itself well to a quick jot directly from a source while on the go. Possible, yes, but far more likely to just be a half-formed idea that needs fleshing out further before being allowed into it's final place within an Archive.

• @s323386 said: