Zettelkasten Forum

Newbie having difficulties processing

Hi there. I am new to the ZK method, discovered it 2 days ago actually. I haven't had a chance to write an Intro post yet, but I will do so soon.

In the mean time, I am wondering how you have overcome the paralysis from feeling overwhelmed by all this information. Was starting out a knowledge management system hard for you as well?

For example, I stumbled upon a quote by Donald Rumsfeld:

Reports that say that something hasn't happened are always interesting to me, because as we know, there are known knowns; there are things we know we know. We also know there are known unknowns; that is to say we know there are some things we do not know. But there are also unknown unknowns—the ones we don't know we don't know. And if one looks throughout the history of our country and other free countries, it is the latter category that tend to be the difficult ones.

I wanted to put this into my ZK, but was struggling with how to break this apart or even how to title it. I know the quote is referring to a division of "things that can be known": known knowns, known unknowns, and unknown unknowns. I could have a note like that:

202001031825 Things that can be known
Former US Secretary of Defense once about the lack of evidence of linking the government of Iraq with WMD:
> Reports that say that something hasn't happened are always interesting to me, because as we know, there are known knowns; there are things we know we know. We also know there are known unknowns; that is to say we know there are some things we do not know. But there are also unknown unknowns—the ones we don't know we don't know. And if one looks throughout the history of our country and other free countries, it is the latter category that tend to be the difficult ones.

Things that can be known can be split into known knowns, known unknowns, and unknown unknowns.