Zettelkasten Forum

Handling references with BibTeX/BibLaTeX, The Archive and Emacs

Hi everyone,

I am a PhD student using (at the moment), The Archive as a slip-box for literature notes and forum (seminars, lectures, workshops) notes. For academic writing, I have started to use Emacs (Kieran Healy’s social science setup). There I use Magit and GitHub as a version control system, and ebib as a reference management (I am storing all my references in various bibfiles (BibTeX syntax) in a single bibfile folder. The bibfiles are called thesis-article1.bib: thesis-article2.bib: thesis-kappa.bib, in order to keep a certain order of which references I use in which text.

Furthermore, I have a folder called bibpdfs in which I store all pdfs (I can find) of the references I use. They are named in the following way: firstauthorlastnameYEARfirstwordinarticle. For example ahrens2017how.pdf.

I would like to write notes in The Archive of the literature I read and to be able to include the metadata from the bibfiles in The Archive and also connect the zettels (one overarching structure note + about 15 notes/zettels per read article/book) with Emacs somehow, but I have not found out how this could be done. Would therefore be grateful for any advice that could help me out.

Best regards,
Joakim

Comments

• I'd recommend to give us more detailed information about your setup. I think only a fraction of the users know about Kieran Healy’s social science setup. I certainly don't.

I am a Zettler

• Hi again,

You are right, @Sascha. Sorry for not being so clear. I was referring to Kieran Healy's The Plain Person's Guide to Plain Text Social Science and Emacs Starter Kit for the Social Sciences.

When speaking of Magit I meant this, and Ebib referred to this. Hope that my post became easier to understand now. Look forward to feedback.

• Interesting links, thanks for sharing! :)