Zettelkasten Forum

Integrating the Zettelkasten-Methode into the life of a student

Dear Knowledge-Workers

I'm studying Philosophy, Psychologie and History at the University of Vienna.
Therefore I'm really attracted by the topic of knowledge-management and appreciate the well eleborated concept of the Zettelkasten.
But I have to admit that i still struggle to integrate the zettelkasten methode into my life as an student.
Some of my obscurities affect more general problems of a student and some of them affect more zettelkasten-specific problems.
Because Sascha and Christian both seem to be conscientious and experienced students I would hope to hear their opinions to the following questions, as well as the opions of the other members of the forum.

personal cognitive Work Load:

Even though I would consider myself as a relatively good student I often struggle to process all the stuff that i've learn about during the lectures + processing the stuff for an upcoming exam.
My maximal cognitive Work Load (=Capacity for Deep Work) seems to be only 3-4 Hours. But on most of the work-days the lectures alone require three hours of concentration. So therefore I run out of cognitive energy to process
the stuff of previous lectures or stuff for an upcoming exam.

What are you're experiences with your personal cognitive work load?
Is it possible to expand the capacity for deep work? Peterson and Newton estimate the maximal duration of focused knowledge work at 3-4 Hours per Day.
Should I not consider lectures as deep work and therefore save some concentration?

Structuring Deep Work-Units:

As some of you may know, as a student you're free to organize your time spent studying (I call it Deep Work-Units).
So therefore I would like to know how you organize your learn-sessions on a daily basis.