Zettelkasten Forum

Devonthink Pro vs Evernote vs Keep It

I am a mainline pastor-theologian (Presbyterian) who is trying to decide on a program to store/ORGANIZE my digital papers.

Papers include:

PDFs
.doc and .docx
Emails
Web bookmarks
Web pages
Scans of books, articles, etc.
.jpegs, etc.

I average 50+ of these docs each week.

(All my notes are stored in the Archive in plain text.)

I want to organize these papers.

I would like to be able to get them out of the program if it is discontinued.

My church will purchase Devonthinkpro if I want it.

I am not a fan of Evernote’s subscription model, but I can live with this.

I write sermons, articles, working on several books of commemtaries, and various other publications.

I am very impressed with the knowledge on this forum and would really like any recommendations, even outside the programs I listed.

It would need to be Mac centric since this is what my churches uses.

Thank you and any response is appreciated.

Comments

• I use DEVONthink Pro and it works well with the Archive. I also works well with Mail App and OmniFocus. Some people on this site use it and also have some scripts and Keyboard Maestro macros that work with it.
    David

• Thanks Davidrcalvert! I also have Omnifocus and debating on using it or Taskpaper, but since Mail and Omnifocus on Archieve work well with DEVONTHINK PRO, this is definitely a vote for DEVONthink.

• Archive is quickly becoming the center of all my research and work!

• edited March 2019

As an alternate perspective: I just keep my documents (mostly PDFs and docxs for the kind of work I do, also writing, but more fiction as well as articles) in a dedicated directory (which has the advantage of being synced by dropbox as well), but I name them with a zk-style UID, so like "201903211836-InterestingPaper.pdf". That way I can reference them in my text notes the same way I do zk linking.