Zettelkasten Forum

What content-coding convention do you use in the naming?

I am a newbie. Please be gentle.
I came to The Achieve via How to Take Smart Notes: One Simple Technique to Boost Writing, Learning, and Thinking – for Students, Academics and Nonfiction Book Writers by Sönke Ahrens. Highly recommended. Here he talks about 4 types of notes. Spot notes, Reference Notes, Literature Notes, and Formal Notes.

1. Spot notes - Quick jots on any old scrap of paper. Usually rewritten as Formal notes and/or trashed
  2. Reference Notes - biographical data of sources
  3. Literature Notes - Quotes (copied)
  4. Formal notes - these are the meat of the Zelletkasten (original ideas)

How do you handle these distinct types of notes? In titles or via tags? Single DB or multiple DBs? Putting a signifier in front of a note's title? Do you use a content-coding convention with the names? This way or some other way?

Will Simpson
I must keep doing my best even though I'm a failure. My peak cognition is behind me. One day soon I will read my last book, write my last note, eat my last meal, and kiss my sweetie for the last time.
kestrelcreek.com

Comments

• edited November 2018

I don't (yet?) completely follow this system, so I'm unsure how these processes will develop in the future. At present, my system is a bit like this:

1. Spot notes, journal entries, free-writing sessions. These are stored in my Archive, with date-stamp "zettel IDs", but no other filenames. This makes them sort of a "invisible background" to my more refined data.
    2. Reference/Capture notes. This is a mix of bibliographic data from books and so forth, with the quotes, references, and ideas I pulled out of them. For these, I use zettel IDs, followed by a set of "prepend tags", and then an actual title. The prepend tags are like "book", "movie", "lecture", and so forth, to indicate the sort of thing I'm taking notes from.