Zettelkasten Forum

What RMS for a mix of academic papers, other pdfs and articles from the web?

Hi!

In my work as a journalist I use a lot of different kinds of sources. I read a fair share of academic papers, but also a lot of other pdf documents (published by magazines, government, businesses etc) and articles and blogposts on the web. So far, I've been using Devonthink to store local copies of everything I think I will need in the future.

What advantages would I get if I switch to a RMS like Zotero?

One big hurdle in my current workflow is how to extract highlights and annotations from the pdfs I read (preferably as markdown). Is that something Zotero (or any of the other more academic-tuned RMSs could help with)?

Are Zotero et al tailormade for academic papers that they wont fit my need for a RMS that also handles other pdfs and web archives?

/Anders

Comments

• I wouldn't store any material besides texts that are so deep that you read them over and over again. The bible for a theologican, Nietzsche's Work for a philosopher or something similar would fall under that umbrella.

I go thoroughly through any text and extract all what I can to notes and then the text will be deleted.

I am a Zettler

• Zotero helps mostly with organizing and inserting metadata for academic references. It can also help in managing reading and annotations of PDFs. With the extension Zotfile you can send and retrieve PDFs to a dropbox location for easy access with an iPad for example and then keep track of changes. Zotero can then automatically extract annotations although you get them inside zotero and have to copy-paste to another location. Zotfile is also good for automatically moving and renaming PDFs to keep them linked to the Zotero database.

There is this mac application called Highlights that promises to extract annotations directly to a nicely formatted Markdown file. That looks great and makes a Linux user envious :)

http://highlightsapp.net/

• @magnus said: