Zettelkasten Forum

Notes useful in the short term

Hi All

Still starting with Zettelkasten and as many people on this forum, not always sure what to put where.
I hope I get the idea that zettlels are written for my future self and for helping the trains of thoughts, even with just over a dozen of thoughts I can already see how the need to jot things in the atomic yet autonomous way helps my thinking.

And then this particular type of notes: status notes

For example, I am studying the applicability of this and that kind of error correction to the different kind of statistical testing and listing some sub-topics to study. Quite often these are dynamic: for example I am studying Šidak correction and stumble into that unlike Bonferroni correction it needs tests independence. I don't want to get distracted to it right away, throwing it into GTD inbox would anyway move it to a project lists.. so do you keep such task lists in the Zettelkasten? They are very useful short term, but long term - very not sure, that's just the current status of what is still to be studied about the topic.

Another example is keeping a record on how much I owe to my little brother and other people (I live out of my home country, so quite often we "transfer" money to relatives by just borrowing from each other). This sort of notes is extremely useful (would be a shame to forget how much I owe), but only when kept up to date and.. can it really contribute to the trains of thought about anything?

What do you, ladies and gentlemen, do with this kind of status-like notes? Keeping them in Zettelkasten? In Zettlekasten-related reference database with short zettels explaining why/what in these notes? In some separate place?

Comments

• I am in flux about this sort of thing. As a tl;dr,

• The principles I hold myself to are "use the right tool for the job", "encode no obligations in the Zettelkasten" and "don't worry about throwing extra stuff in the Zettelkasten":