Zettelkasten Forum

Specific query about creating a useful note

edited September 6 in Writing

Hi. I have been creating Zettels off and on for last 3 years (currently having 450 notes). Requesting your advice and suggestions on a confusion I often experience

I have heard that each note should only be about one idea. However, many times I am creating notes that might have multiple sub ideas but I don't feel each sub idea should be separately made a note. For instance, refer to the attached note.

I am discussing two components about the nature of growth - but I typically prefer to put them in a single note only. Would it be more beneficial for me to put the subpoints in separate notes? If so, why?

If you guys were creating the note that I just pasted, how would you create it? Would you make it single or multiple notes? If multiple, what all notes would you make from it?

Thanks!

Comments

• @AayushPriyank Good question; one we've all struggled with at some point in our Zettelkasten journey.

I would say, in the end, it comes down to personal preference, what "feels right" to us. It is your ZK, after all, and it needs to work for you. Also, the less friction required to enter information, the better.

In my ZK, the length and number of "separate" ideas in each zettel varies a lot. Sometimes, when I'm dealing with highly technical information, my zettels are pretty short and pithy. At other times, when I'm trying to capture memories from my youth or memories of significant interactions with friends (this is all for a personal history), each zettel is longer and contains a few ideas that are knit together by the nature of what I am describing (so I don't want to further sub-divide the zettel).