Zettelkasten Forum

Hello I am Paulo from Croatia

Hi to all I have been following the forum and the blog for some time now, and as in multiple things in life growth is to be found inside of a community. Today I was reading about the Knowledge Cycle and taking notes and I thought to myself this forum and site is a real gold mine of people that are looking to improve the world, grow and share their knowledge.

I am a Engineering Manager, comming from a development background. And I am just addicted to learning, if anybody did a Gallup test I have Learner, Intellection and Input as the first three skills. I like to learn stuff, I like to think about stuff and I like to gorge on information, so as you may presume I am a big fan of the Collector Fallacy.

I remember when I got my first job as a web developer I learned more in 3 months than 3 years of college. Because I was immersed and mentored by a community aka my first company. Then why not become a part of this community that is obviously enthusiast to grow in knowledge, sharpening their own mental models and becoming generally awesome.

So about my Zettel, I tried starting before but I got stuck in WHAT IS THE BEST APP HELL. I spent about a month searching for the best app, thinking about what app would give me:

1. Longevity
  2. Not being locked in behind a proprietry
  3. Having all the do-das that were needed

Apps that could kinda serve this purpose: Obsidian, The Archive, DevonThink ( I liked the ability to jump straight to PDF section, but then I learned of the Oportunity cost of re-reading (thanks @Sascha) and that notes that are not good enough by themself are questionable notes

After this month I just drifted away without actually doing anything. But one day I decided what the hell lets just fold the a4 paper in A5 then fold that one in A