Zettelkasten Forum

Ed from RI...

Just joined the forum and I am gaining a lot of useful information from it.

It has occurred to me that Excel, or any other widely-used spreadsheet app, might be readily adapted to form a Zettlekasten, utilizing the sort & search functions available in the app.

Has anyone on the forum used spreadsheets to set up a Zettlekasten?

Comments

• @EFBJr Welcome to the ZK forum? I've been haunting these halls for about 18 months. I haven't seen any discussion of using spreadsheets to develop a ZK. I do have a good familiarity with Excel and other spreadsheets; I don't think I'd use it for a ZK. One of the most important elements of a ZK is the links between zettels - these form a network that grows organically over time and doesn't lend itself to the spreadsheet format.

If you have some ideas on how it might be done, I'm sure people here would be happy to read about that and comment on it.

• I agree this hasn't been discussed before, it seems. Excel can sort the notes by ID or by title, which is nice. It's not clear how well it performs. I was working in a document once that had hundreds of thousands of entries, with formula. It took several minutes to open the document. This was years ago in OpenOffice, probably, and on a cheap laptop.

my first Zettel uid: 202008120915

• If you pull this off, please share your experience. :)

I am a Zettler

• Here are some miscellaneous ideas on Excel-based ZKs, or EZKs.

• The size limits in Excel with roughly 1 million rows, 16000 columns, and 32000 characters per cell should be of no consequence. A list of Excel limits can be found here. I know nothing about the current impact of file size on performance.
    • Using a CVS format or, more advanced, an XML format could make the EZK fairly independent of specific software. Again, I know nothing about using long units of text with (perhaps) formatting information within CSV files.