Zettelkasten Forum

How would you take notes from a book that you don't know when or how you will use it?

I'm still new to the method, but doing some research on the zettelkasten method, I found that the zettelkasten should always be used for some project, something you are writing. But what if I'm not working on a project, but I still want to remember what I read?

If I'm learning a skill, say copywriting, for instance, when I read a book about copywriting I won't know right away which techniques I'm going to use, I won't know when or how I'm going to use the techniques described in the book, but I know I'm going to need them.

Is the zettelkasten useful for acquiring a new skill?

In case I'm reading a self-help or philosophy book for both myself and also to be capable of giving advice to others when they might need it. How would you choose what notes to take and how would make sure you would remember what you read? Would you use SRS?

For instance, how can I remember The Meditations of Marcus Aurelius?

Any help would be very much appreciated. Thank you.

Comments

• So, this is of course a multi-faceted question and the answer becomes a bit of "it depends", but I'll try to give an answer from my experience.

My first advice is simply to pick a purpose. Not that it is really simple, of course, but in my own experience it has been much more fruitful to have some purpose in mind. "Project" can seem a bit overwhelming and "goal" can be a bit too business-minded, so I think "purpose" strikes a nice balance -- but read into it what you want. My point is simply, that if you are reading "Meditations" there must be something that sparks your interest? Is it antique philosophy? Stoicism? Roman emperors? There are many reasons to be interest in "Meditations", but the approach to note-taking, as you identify, differs.