Zettelkasten Forum

Introducing ...

It's me, bobbiandjack. I'm very new to the method as well as the app, and I'm looking forward to using both as a knowledge base of everything I read from now on. I'll be grateful for tips and encouragement from any who are trying to do the same.

Comments

• edited December 2020

Hi there, hope you enjoy the forum.

My advice is,

• Have fun building your zettelkasten and use it more than fiddling around "the method".
    • Be hesitant in adding new notes. Add only those that are crucial to your goals, otherwise you'll end up "collecting".
    • (Usually notes are atomic, that means, brief and to the point but well-written so that your future-self can understand them again. The effort is in writing them concisely and not in length).

In reading, avoid adding every interesting quote you come across. Add notes about big ideas you read, and support them with other specific brief notes.

• @bobbiandjack said:
    It's me, bobbiandjack. I'm very new to the method as well as the app, and I'm looking forward to using both as a knowledge base of everything I read from now on. I'll be grateful for tips and encouragement from any who are trying to do the same.

Hi and welcome to the forum!! This may sound obvious, but have you checked the "Getting Started" section of this web site? You can access it at: https://zettelkasten.de/posts/overview/

Otherwise, read (info on this site, especially the forum) and do (create zettels). Knowledge comes with practice :wink:

• Welcome aboard!

My word of encouragement is borrowed (without consent :)) from @Will: All notes are malleable. Strive for permanently useful notes, not permanently unchanging notes.

I hope that takes a bit of the harshness off of @Splattak's suggestion to be careful about creating notes: you can always make things better, eventually. I fare better creating and editing with the intention to keep.

Author at Zettelkasten.de • https://christiantietze.de/

• edited December 2020