Zettelkasten Forum

Connect literature notes?

Hey so I'm kinda new to the Zettelkasten method and I'm wondering if I should connect my literature notes. A concrete example: I've described a production method and added this to my literature notes, now I came across something that describes where this production method can be implemented in. If I want to add it too should I link these two notes like: Here you can see where this method works or something like that or should I just leave it alone?

Also, what do I do when I have two notes about the same topic but from different sources? How do you handle it? Do you make another note and link them? Do you add the new information to the already existing note? What about the referencing then?

I use Obsidian for my Zettelkasten, as I already said I'm kinda new to it and I hope you could help me not only with my questions but my general understanding about this specific method.

Thank you in advance.

Comments

• If I want to add it too should I link these two notes like: Here you can see where this method works or something like that or should I just leave it alone?

I would say you never want to leave anything alone. As @Will pointed out so well, every note is malleable: All notes are malleable: Strive for permanently useful notes, not permanently unchanging notes

To me, the description of your thoughts about the whole process at the moment sounds like you could benefit from relaxing a bit about strict delineations of note types. Stuff you put in your ZK is supposed to be used, connected, re-written, re-organized, and played with. So if you are interested in possible applications of production method X, create a note that references the method description and tell your future self what it needs to know to remember what this was about, and why you think it's interesting.

Author at Zettelkasten.de • https://christiantietze.de/

• I'm still a beginner in the subject, but maybe that's why my views are still very fresh.