Zettelkasten Forum

Introductions and some ramblings

I've been lurking for a few months, so I thought I should introduce myself. My name is Benjamin. I'm a chemistry graduate student that transitioning into a chemical engineering post-doctoral research position within the next few months.

Back in April, I was searching for a more future proof method of managing my notes. I had been using Evernote for years, but a glitch in their software shuffled around all of my file links, breaking them all. I had to spend days combing through notes and fixing the links or risk losing those links entirely. In searching for alternatives, I stumbled across Zettlr, which has references to Zettelkasten in its preferences menu. That's how I stumbled across this blog and forum.

I spent a weekend reading How to Take Smart Notes by Sönke Ahrens, and I was immediately sold on Zettelkasten as a method. I had always been discontent with my previous note taking, trying everything from annotating directly on the PDF to writing notes in a notebook to making a new text file for each paper I read. I often cycled between all of these approaches, generating a lot of scattered notes. My largest frustration was the feeling that I was losing things. I read a paper, I understood the paper and learned from it, but if I didn't put the paper's concepts directly into action then I would always forget many of the important details. Once I forgot the details, returning to my notes didn't help, and so I was forced to reread the paper (taking a new set of notes), restarting the whole process over again.

My first zettel is from the end of April. I'm just now starting to build up a critical mass of notes, as Ahrens describes it. I think the hardest part has been optimizing and smoothing out my work flow and organization to make working with my zettelkasten as frictionless as possible. I'm still making some tweaks to it, but I think the overall flow is settling into a comfortable rhythm.