Zettelkasten Forum

A newcomer with a question

I'm a veteran writer but new to ZK, and I like the concept a lot. (I also like steep learning curves, so ....)
One thing confuses me: How is each note actually linked to others? And can that be made cloud-ish? In other words, I can create a word doc that links to another word doc as long as I stay local - but can I link from one note to another in a way that that link will work no matter where I am?
I'm sorry if this is too primitive a question but to me it's hard to get started until I can understand that. I'd really like to do this in a way that doesn't introduce five new apps, if y'all know what I mean.
Thank you.

Comments

• edited August 2020

I have a few ways to link to other notes, images, pdfs, directories, websites.

These are a few examples of what I do;

Citing a pdf anywhere on my computer or cloud;

• "This is a brief quote from a larger message"
    • See original message the-filename-.pdf.

Mentioning another plain text txt file;

• See also MICROTIPOGRAPHY CASE STUDY LEFT ALIGNED. These examples from several magazines show left aligned tipography with great use of hyphenation and tracking adjustments [[AJ20200807a08-microtype-case-study]]

Refering to a directory full of images;

• For screenshots of the website see also the-folder-with-images/.

For an online course;

• Notes taken from Grid systems in Typography (11 min 06 s). 12-type-grid-systems.mp4.

I use iA Writer because my zettels (plain text .txt. notes) are written in markdown and display images with the preview feature. All other files are easily found by searching their filename, in my case using spotlight in macOS.

• I keep all my notes in DropBox, which means I can access them from desktop, laptop and phone.

I tend not to link to external documents, except online resources. My notes are in that respect self-contained.

• @mbitty said: