Zettelkasten Forum

Professor/Archaeologist/Researcher

Hi to all.

I'm a university professor and researcher in archaeology and am currrently adapting Zettelkasten to my research workflow. Meaning, I'm not using it in its pure form (as Luhmann devised it), but rather a mingle of it with a wiki database (a mix of concept notes, snippet notes and reading notes).

I use DEVONthink and Bookends for this but, since I don't really like the md editor in DT, I'm currently evaluating The Archive as the main repository of my notes database (my adapted Zettelkasten), while indexing the folder in DT3.

Oh... and I've been a lurker of this nice forum, which has helped me in the last few weeks to prepare for my (oh-so-wished) sabbatical.

================
_Research is formalized curiosity. It is poking and prying with a purpose. _ -- Zora Neale Hurston

Comments

• Welcome aboard! Looking forward to hear about your projects and how the Zettelkasten Method helped with your work.

Author at Zettelkasten.de • https://christiantietze.de/

• Fellow professor, archaeologist, researcher here. Also a bookends and Devonthink user. But I’ve found the simplicity of the archive (when combined with a few good keyboard maestro macros) to be a game changer. I link to bookends in my zettelnote and use the DT ai to explore both these notes and the original PDFs. I find it a good combo.

• @ctietze Thank you for the welcome. :smile:

@aroddick

Cool! I'm also a KM user. What main macros do you use? I'm still setting mine (and also setting shortcuts for them in the TouchBar with BetterTouchTool), but I'll be happy to integrate a few more (specially if they speed up the Bookends - DT3 - The Archive interaction)

So far I'm using these. The first three create new zettels (with different templates) in The Archive, the others are auto-descriptive (the search KM macro was adapted from @Will's Zettel Title Search.

Also, do you also edit some zettels in iPad? If so, what app do you use?