Zettelkasten Forum

CIO and DBA student from Canada

Hi everyone,
This is the first forum I've ever joined and look forward to learning TA and the Zettelkasten method alongside all of you. I live and work in Calgary Canada, but am attending classes (physically; currently virtually) at the University of Bath, UK. I'm in the DBA program focusing on higher education management and don't anticipate starting my doctoral thesis until early 2022 (I'm currently taking classes and about to start the second of four residential sessions next week) .

I learned about the ZK method after completing my first course and paper and figuring there had to be a better way of organizing notes than how I did it in OneNote. I just finished reading 'How to Take Smart Notes' and downloaded TA yesterday so I'm very new to this. My plan is to start entering my thoughts into TA as I start my second course next week. I work as a CIO/AVP of IT for a polytechnic school and already make good use of OneNote/physical notebooks for my daily work notes, and am working hard to learn new tools to support my scholarly work (e.g. EndNote, NVivo). I am using EndNote for reference management, but am thinking of moving over to Zotero mainly to be able to store notes for each reference item, as per Ahrens' suggestions. I'll continue to use OneNote for my transient/temporary thoughts, MS Word for writing, and TA as my zettelkasten. Mastering TA and learning the ZK method to support my next paper, due prior to Christmas, is going to involve a significant learning curve but one that seems self supporting according to the afterword in the book. Not sure what it is, but this method just seems so logical.