Zettelkasten Forum

Interesting Tagging Idea from Bear

I've been using Bear for a couple of years, although I took a break for 2 months when distracted by work :>( Going back to Bear, after now starting to use TA and having read about Zettelkasten, I paid more attention to how Bear organizes notes. In Bear, you can nest your tags, in such a manner:

" #stories/ideas/agency "

There is a pane in Bear that lists your main level tags, and then underneath each tag, any sub-tags, to whatever number of sub-levels you want.

This concept is quite powerful. I understand it is still a method of categorization and that you are stuck with whatever structure you set up. But it seems easier to find things with nested tags than with single tags. I guess the equivalent in TA would be to use multiple tags and a Boolean search. Can a case be made for nested tags in TA?

Bear also has a method of linking from one note to another, but I find it clunky and less useful than TA. In some ways, it is a matter of emphasis - are tags your primary way of accessing information, or do you more rely on previously established links from one note to another? If I hadn't encountered the idea of Zettelkasten, I'd never of thought about this - haha - one of those happy, serendipitous learnings. But in any case, focusing more on linking notes and on how they should be linked, is a learning exercise in itself.

Comments

• I used nested tags for my bookmarks for a couple of years, and I began to regret it when things began to overlap, like #webdesign/typography and #print/typography (not a real example case). Boolean searches to express set intersections, set unions, and the like are way more powerful and also don't narrow down your future options, unlike a hierarchical tag taxonomy that you cannot as easily migrate our of.

Author at Zettelkasten.de • https://christiantietze.de/

• @ctietze said:
    I I began to regret it when things began to overlap,