Zettelkasten Forum

Beginner needs help for (Multi)Markdown Workflow

Hello all,

I followed this forum for some weeks now, after I started to use The Archive. I love the topic of knowledge management and have some years of experience already (I studied Mathematics and an MBA man years ago).

I am just diving into the Markdown language, because I have seen my AmiPro or Word Files fade away :-)

I have two objectives in using The Archive:

1. I use The Archive as my Zettelkasten (I have a large number of Zettels which I imported from ScribblePapers, which I created during years in my job). I have some experience in using a Zettelkasten, so my questions are more related to the second objective ....

2. I do a lot of writing - mainly job-specific topics that do not require a lot of text formatting - BUT - I will start to study German Linguistic soon. This means: writing more papers / homeworks. I would need some things like insert pictures; tables; some simple mathematical formulas (for statistics); etc.

My questions: I am totally confused how to best process my (Multi)Markdown files to PDF and DOCX. I expect that DOCX will be required.

(a) Which "processor" should I use in order to be independent of program-specific features?

I use Typora which offers a lot of formatting, even mathematical formula. But if Typora would be gone, how could I convert my files?

I installed Pandoc. It does not support everything which I can do in Typora. Conversion to DOCX seems to be very limited (if I am not doing things wrong). Tables do not work at all.

I installed Multimarkdown Composer. There are even more "markdown features" that do not work.

(b) Is there a recommended minimum set of markdown features that I should use?

(c) Maybe my thinking or expectation is wrong .... would someone be willing to give a high level description of his/her workflow?

Thank you very much for any help you can offer ...

Joachim.

Comments