Zettelkasten Forum

Working with your ZK remotely?

Hey all,
So I am using the Sublime ZK package for my ZK. I really like it. And in the end, it's just text notes, and could be compatible with anything else that comes along, including The Archive.

The issue is, I'm not always at my own personal computer. I will begin my job as a resident physician very soon, and for most of my day, I will be at various work terminals (e.g. Windows computers). I will be doing a lot of learning in that time, and I want to capture what I'm learning.

A cloud interface for my ZK would be ideal. Dropbox has the files, but does anyone have a good way to create and edit ZK files (text notes) remotely?

Surely, I'm not the only one dealing with this. Anyone here who has to use a work computer during the day will feel this struggle.

What do you do?

Comments

• Congratulations and condolences on starting your residency. You are in for a ride.

I am a graduating resident browsing for tips and ideas for my own note-taking. To call me a novice on ZK would be generous, so I'm sure others can help you more there, but I can offer some tips on storage from a healthcare perspective.

You will likely find that your hospital system blocks cloud storage platforms from communicating due to over-worship at the altar of HIPAA. There are workarounds, but the most reliable way to be able to take notes is to (have a way to) do it offline and then sync your devices outside of the hospital. There are many ways to do this such as github/gitlab, syncthing, manual backups, evernote/notion/ulysses/etc. My personal choice at the moment is gitlab for sync and version control between linux desktop, mac laptop, and iphone and use the editor of your choice on each respective device. I use Working Copy on my iphone which allows using any editing app (e.g. iA writer). Important to have good full text search. I don't closely follow ZK guidelines so ymmv.