Zettelkasten Forum

Zetteldeft: What is a backlink

I am new to Zettelkasten-method and work with zetteldeft (currently 5 real zettel in it).

I do not understand the concept of backlinks. What is it and how to use it?
It makes no difference if I create a "normal" link or a backlink in a zettel. Both links are pointing to the same zettel.

From the meaning of the word I would assume that a "backlink" would create a 1to1 relation by default.
Let's assume I have opened zettel "A".
I insert a backlink to zettel "B".
"A" now has the link to "B".
But in "B" is a new and automatic created link (back) to "A", too.
But this does not happen also.

So what is backlinking about?

Comments

• I'm not familiar with Zetteldeft, but use The Archive. Say one creates a zettel "A". It is natural to want to connect it to some related zettels. I have another zettel "B", so I create a link to it. That is a forward link, in my way of thinking - only because it was the first link established.

The Archive does not automatically create another link in "B" that leads back to "A", i.e., a back link. If you want a link from B to A, you have to create another one.

In some programs, when you create a link from A to B, a backlink from B to A is also created in zettel B.

• edited September 2021

Notes are many-to-many. You could see backlinks as a list of notes, then there is no difference for back and normal. You create links by connecting notes (manually). This then leads to the following question: which other notes exist that link to the current note in focus? This list of notes are backlinks. This can be useful, at times, for a multitude of things.

my first Zettel uid: 202008120915

• I understand what you wrote about but I think it does not answer my question.
    I assume we understand "backlink" as the same.

But this does not explain what a "backlink" is in zetteldeft.