Zettelkasten Forum

Aspiring political philosopher needs a better note-taking system.

Greetings! I am a doctoral student hoping to gain insights about the Zettelkasten system. It is my hope to develop a system that allows me to write productively for my field and accrue a vast body of knowledge along the way. From what I have read thus far on the forum, articles about the Luhmann's numerical system have piqued my interested because I do want to use it in my system; however, I am still trying to grasp exactly how the new UID, aside from Luhmann's numerical one, is used for linking to other notes in the digital slip-box. I am currently deepening my understanding of this system by reading How To Take Smart Notes.

Pertaining to software, I am in need of advice. I have both Obsidian and Zettlr downloaded, having used Obsidian in the past for note taking but not as well organized as I would have liked. The latter software is a recent find; I have no experience with it. Yet I am open to suggestions concerning other applications available for Linux.

With regard to my studies, I am in the midst of my coursework and trying to figure out my niche, but I do have an affinity for Plato and Spinoza. What led me to the field in the first place was the Islamic philosophers, namely Al-Farabi and Ibn-Rushd (Averroes). Anyhow, I look forward to perusing the forum for past insights and discussions.

Comments

• edited July 2021

however, I am still trying to grasp exactly how the new UID, aside from Luhmann's numerical one, is used for linking to other notes in the digital slip-box.

The luhmann ID is a necessary tool in the physical zettelkasten because you needed to be able to add new note cards at any point in the collection. With digital zettelkasten's you don't need to do that, but some people still use them because it is a way of visually keeping related notes together. Which is what hashtags are in note-taking also, a way of grouping a set of notes around a particular topic.