Zettelkasten Forum

Differentiate between links to new ideas and other trains of thought

Hi,
I'm relatively new to Zettelkasten, but have been working intensively with it since I read How to take smart notes a few months back. I've tried to mindlessly copy the workflow described by Ahrens, to make sure that I learn the workflow correctly before making adjustments. So I've created a library of about 200 notes in Obsidian.
But a few days ago I noticed a way that my workflow might have diverged from the principles of Zettelkasten, in a way that might hinder the usefulness of my library later on. So far I've created permanent notes by writing about the topic of the note in my own words. The topic can be a general concept, or a specific idea by myself or someone else. And while I was writing, I created connections to other notes whenever I felt it was appropriate or useful. (E.g. a note about "the importance of first hand experiences in science teaching" could have a link to "motivation" and "concentration").
What I've realized, however, is that my notes have not been structured in the way of clear trains of thought (as illustrated on slide 36 here: https://www.slideshare.net/mosessampaul/introduction-to-luhmanns-zettelkasten-thinking ), but more as a network of (deliberately, not automatically) linked notes. This leads to a lack of hierarchy in my library, which I believe can become a bit difficult to navigate after a while.

So I have two questions:
1) What are your experiences with this? Do you believe this will be a significant issue down the line?
2)
When linking notes (e.g. in Obsidian), there are two different types of links. Links that progresses the current train of thought, and links that refer to other trains of thought. Do you differentiate between these while writing permanent notes?