Zettelkasten Forum

Hello from kaidoh

To give a little perspective on the different forum posts, a few words on me.

I’m a psychologist working in research (on topics like patient education and life style change). Besides research I give lectures to medicine students and vocational trainings for health care professionals („train the trainer“).

I also enjoy programming on a rather mediocre level - a little bit of everything: HMTL, PHP, Javascript, Python, R.

In my spare free time I enjoy the occasional role playing session, pub quizzes, reading and writing.

Almost everything of the above is more or less connected to working with text. So, „working with text“ became sort of a meta hobby. I enjoy exploring new tools and combinations and I enjoy using them.

Because of that I feel more comfortable talking about the text tools I use regularly :-). So here is my shortlist:

• The Archive/nvALT: A good hub for the notes. The Archive is very promising in that regard. It is very young and has shaky legs (v1.0 crashes quite often on my machines) but it has the potential to get the main door to my notes repository.
  • BBEdit: 20 years and counting. This editor has not let me down once. Rock stable and mighty editing features. It is not my #1 when it comes to searching in my notes, but nothing beats it when editing text.
  • Keyboard Maestro: this one is no surprise if you have seen my forum posts. Text editing features everywhere on your system? Keyboard Maestro.
  • LaunchBar: not kidding. It might be a launcher app but it has very handy text functions. You can send selected text directly to files to append it, you can quick-paste single text lines from files or have access to your clipboard history
  • Typinator: If you are working with text you need a serious text expanding utility. Typinator is my choice. Very versatile, very configurable and very unobstrusive.