Zettelkasten Forum

Help for a newcomer

I am new to Zettelkasten, am using The Archive, but am struggling a bit to understand how the system works.

I'm used to using bullet journals and mind maps (iThoughts).

I think I get the general idea but am struggling to see the benefit over a traditional wiki.
CamelBack words look to be a very easy way to set up links between notes, much easier than the timestamped notes.

Can anyone point me towards some simple guides that highlight the benefits?

Also, are there details of what typewriter mode is? It doesn't appear to do anything.

Thanks,

Haywire, UK.

Comments

• @Haywire Hello and welcome to the Zettelkasten.de forum!

There is a very good "getting started" section here, at which I think you should start:

https://zettelkasten.de/posts/overview/

Also, if you want a decent overview of the ZK method, a little history and what it does, you can try:

https://writingcooperative.com/zettelkasten-how-one-german-scholar-was-so-freakishly-productive-997e4e0ca125

and

https://leananki.com/zettelkasten-method-smart-notes/

I found all of these links very useful when I first started creating a ZK, 10 months ago.

Once you've got the basics under your belt, I encourage you to try writing and connecting some zettels. With a little knowledge and a little experience, you may find the discussions herein more enlightening.

• edited March 2021

@Haywire, welcome to the forums.

I can't speak to the difference between The Archive and a "traditional wiki." But this does bring to mind a useful distinction between methods and tools.

There is the Zettelkasten Method, and there are tools for implementing the method. The Archive, wiki software, and a plethora of other apps. Some tools are easier to use for some people in some situations with certain constraints and needs. Some tools are more expensive, more complicated, require forfeiting some freedoms.