Zettelkasten Forum

Help for a new Padawan

Dear Community,

I am a psychology and philosophy undergraduate and I got into making my own Zettelkasten about a month ago because I am fascinated by the potential of the method. I am still very much experimenting with my Zettelkasten, but I have a couple of questions that I need some help with. I have about 85 entries at the moment they are mainly on four broad topics (the internet, philosophy and psychology, and general thoughts) but they are unorganised and not very connected with each other and I am afraid that I am ruining my Zettelkasten right from the get-go.

My question therefore are:

How strong does a link has to be for you to connect notes? Do you try to connect as many notes as possible or wait until more meaningful connections develop over time?

Do you curate your Zettelkasten to find connections that you have missed in the past? or link older notes to new notes that didn't exist before? Do you backlink?

And also within notes I have a question:

I am currently creating a note for Rawls Theory of Justice for a class I have. Do you recommend one note as a summary or smaller notes?

I understand that one thought should fill one note, but how do you approach systems of thoughts?

Sorry for so many questions but thank you very much for your help!

Guy

Comments

• Welcome, @Guy_Montag!

How strong does a link has to be for you to connect notes? Do you try to connect as many notes as possible or wait until more meaningful connections develop over time?