Zettelkasten Forum

No longer lurking

Hello everyone!

My name is Taylor and I'm new to the forum, though not new to the Zettelkasten method. I've been reading Zettelkasten.de since my undergrad degree (around 2013/2014) and lurking the forums for as long as they've been around. Thank you Christian and Sascha for your tireless work collecting resources, translating the Zettelkasten concept into English, and sharing insights from your own research process!

I'm now a doctoral student studying philosophy at a Canadian university (mostly phil. of language, phi. of logic, what is known in North America as "Continental philosophy," and occassionally some virtue ethics and phil. of sexuality). I've gotten more serious about my research and writing process lately, and have a lot more free time due to the current pandemic. So I figured I should get involved here to learn more from others.

By way of introduction, I thought I'd share an overview of my experience with the Zettelkasten Method. I've gone through three ZK iterations:

1. The first was in undergrad (circa 2013-2015) and primarily consisted of vague, quotation-heavy notes from a Marxist philosophy course I was taking. It also included, I'm embarrassed to admit, an almost exact copy of the first half of Book I of Spinoza's Ethics (Spinoza's Ethics is written in a very ZK-like manner, and I basically copied Spinoza's own intratextual citations). Needless to say this approach got very boring very quickly and didn't generate anything of note (so to speak). Christian and Sascha already warned of collecting without processing, but I guess I needed to learn this lesson for myself.