Zettelkasten Forum

Im new and have questions

foxfox
edited March 24 in The Zettelkasten Method

Hey,
I'm new to the Zettelkasten Method and have some questions I can't really find an answer to.
How long should a Note be? Here comes a lot of bla-bla, just skip to the Itaic part: I summarised the introduction to the Zettelkasten (this -> °Link°) to get an overview etc. and used 1700 words, but i think thats to much especially if I took a look at the Luhmanns Archive. I worked like with a Word document, so I made different headings and summarised different chapters of the text under them. (I copied a lot although you're not supposed to do that)
Now I'm wondering: how many notes should you make for a source (book, website), one or more, is there a limit or an ideal value? I was also wondering what the different notes should contain. (I've heard it should be a thought, no matter what type of note, but I don't know when my thought is finished... xD.)
So: how long should the different note types (literature and permanent) be, what should they contain and how many should I make on a certain topic or source? (no bla-bla anymore)

It would be nice if you could take a look at the first 2 or 3 "chapters" (link above) and tell me what your Zettel would look like.
I would also appreciate it if you could show me what your note box looks like (the note types (MoC's or hub-notes) etc.) so that I can get an idea of a digital note box. It would help me a lot.

cheers.

Comments

• How long should a note be?

I'm going to take a little detour to answer (as best I can) this question.

When we think, there is a maximum limit of complexity that we can have in mind at any given time.

When we apply the Zettelkasten method, we seek to develop tools and workflows that allow us to overcome this limit of processing complexity.

This increase in our ability to process complexity consists of at least two strategies:

• breaking down a complex idea into simpler sub-ideas