Zettelkasten Forum

Zettelkasten is hard for me, How can I turn this example to Zettelkasten , I use obsidian

Hello,
I am new to the Zettelkasten method, I read everything I could read and find about it. but it is still hard for me. I am a visual person I like to see visual representations of What I read. my method for learning is to organize info then make connections visually between them, and then I make a connection to my past experience, for example

this is a paragraph talking about spiders:
source: https://cehs.unl.edu/kiewra/soar/

Spiders have two body parts: the head and chest. They have eight legs and eight eyes. They do not have wings or antennae. Their skeleton is a hard, outer shell that protects them.
A hard, outer shell protects an insect’s three body parts: head, chest, and abdomen. They usually have two big eyes and three smaller eyes between them. Six legs and one or two pairs of wings propel insects. Insects also have a pair of antennae for sensing things.

my problem is about, How can I correctly apply Zettelkasten?
is this paragraph represent one note, one complete note? Should I make it smaller parts for every single detail?
How can I organize it in a matrix table? like this :smile:

when it comes to associating them with each other, Should I make links for the association?
when I make associations for what I know and make connections between new knowledge and previous knowledge, Should I make links?

Should I consider the whole thing one Zettelkasten note and make a template for my workflow?

I know I ask a lot because I feel lost
by the way, I use obsidian for note-taking.

Comments

• edited April 2022

Hi, @mazin and welcome :)

This is normal to feel lost at first. Visual or not, every notes suppose to take note first :)

For example, in this case I would :

• Make a new note to define what is an insect;
    • Make a new note to define what is a spider;
    • Make a new note to compare insect and spider, with ou without table.