Zettelkasten Forum

Keyboard Maestro - Insert Structure Note link

Hi all!

I'm new to zettelkasten. I've been playing with it for just a few days now, and I've already found some of the KMs very helpful.

Thanks, @Will, for many of them!

I was wondering if anyone had ever created a KM for inserting a link to a structure note on a zettel.

For me, I put my links to the structure note and other zettels at the very bottom of each zettel. I've used the naming convention for structure notes that includes the • between the UID and the text title.

I was thinking if there was a way to set it up so it worked something like this:

1. I place my cursor in the appropriate location in my zettel.
  2. I enter the key combination for the KM to insert my structure note link.
  3. It then gives me a prompt, asking me which structure note I want to link to (it would limit it to those zettels with the • in the title).
  4. I select the appropriate structure note.
  5. It automatically enters that structure note as a link in the format of UID and text title of the structure note.

Is this possible? Is it unnecessary?

The reverse of this would be a time saver too. For me, I often add a link to my newest zettel to my structure note immediately after I create the zettel. So, if there was a way to go back to my structure note and use a KM to create a link to the most recently created zettel (of even a prompt to choose from one of the more recently created zettels) that would save time too.

Or, have you guys found ways to save time and do this without a KM macro?

Comments

• Thanks, @mgbianc and welcome to the forums.

Here is the Keyboard Maestro macro that will add a link to any note from any note.The skill using it comes from simple selection in the prompt.